Dekmantel | MFO - Future City Traffic - Part 1
Search Results

MFO Future City Traffic - Part 1

€11.00 Release date: 08 September 2014


Tracklist Vinyl (12")

Mephisto Frequency Oscillator (MFO) is a dynamic production duo made up of Italians Rio Padice and Massimo Di Lena. Here they release their first of a two part EP series, Future City Traffic, on Dutch label Dekmantel having only previously released on Early Sounds Recordings. Across three tracks they lie out some fine space funk and dirty deep house and prove they have a great understanding together.

First up, 'Anti Social Plan' is riddled with a scuzzy Detroit soul. The drums and claps bounce like an imperfect Kyle Hall cut and great chords and melodies dance about with a refreshingly liveliness. Then comes 'Slow Run In Our Dreams', which has hurried, rough sounding drums down low and odd, awkward but soulful piano patterns played out up top. Blurts of analogue bass add weight, and breathy vocal sounds make things seem all the more organic. It's a truly inventive track, as is closer 'Crisis Zone' with its deep, dread fuelled drums. Raw as you like with super sharp hi hats, this is a knackered sounding track that scuffs along the ground as all sorts of pixelated melodies and crushed 8 bit sounds rain down up top like some sort of crystallised rain. This is house music, but not as we know it!